“Many children, many cares; no children, no felicity.”-Christian Nevell Bovee

WOW am I exhausted.

I’m staying with some old family friends of mine for a while and they run a daycare out of their home throughout the week. That means I am surrounded by children for 9 hours M-F, which I love but it is SO much work. Then, for some reason, I was willing to volunteer to provide childcare for a conference this weekend.Plus I was dogsitting for a friend who is out of town. Then, to top it all off, I had to drive home through snow, which my 1996 Nissan is most definitely not equipped for.

Yet, despite waking up early, being on my feet, chasing children, taking care of dogs, and anxiously driving through snow, I was reminded of so many blessings this weekend.
I was reminded that hard work is satisfying and good for us, as I have also been reminded in a Bible study earlier this week that we are created to create. I was reminded of how many wonderful people I come in contact with every single day here, yet who I obviously take for granted–so many people who say they appreciate me, and care about my well being. I was reminded to love my neighbor as myself (thanks for clearing the snow off my car, Todd!), and most of all, I was reminded of how special it is to be a part of a growing child’s life, whether it’s through helping them with homework, playing games with them, disciplining them, or best yet, cuddling with them while you watch the same Veggie Tales movie for the 5th time in two days.

Image

Leave a Reply

