“Anyone can hide. Facing up to things, working through them, that’s what makes you strong.”-Sarah Dessen

Did you know that the lotus flower blooms from the depths of muddy waters?

It unfolds after breaking through the murky surface, to face the light. It closes and sinks beneath the surface once darkness falls each day. Despite repeatedly going beneath the waterline, the impurities never affect it–it remains pure and healthy. And it always, without fail during the course of its life, opens up again in the morning to face the sun.

Image

 

“I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall.
I well remember them, and my soul is downcast within me.
Yet this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope:
Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for His compassions never fail.
They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.”
Lamentations 3:19-23

Leave a Reply

