“The poet’s eye,in a fine frenzy rolling,doth glance from heaven to earth,from earth to heaven…

…and as imagination bodies forth the forms of things unknown, the poet’s pen turns them to shape, and gives to airy nothing a local habitation and a name; such tricks hath strong imagination.”
William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night’s Dream

I love music, and I could talk about it for hours. It is always cool to share your musical taste and interests with other people, so what better place than here?

One of my favorite artists is Alison Sudol, who sings under the name A Fine Frenzy. You know how it is when you just kind of forget about an artist for a while and then you rediscover all of their music that you own it’s kind of exciting…Well, that’s what happened with me. I haven’t listened to A Fine Frenzy in about a year, I’d say, and I just remembered that I have all of her music on my computer, so I’ve been listening to it and am reminded of why I loved it in the first place.

Her lyrics are so creative, and that’s always a mark of a good artist.And most of all, I love the imagery that her lyrics evoke.
I’ve got all of her albums, and I probably couldn’t say which one I love best.
In case you’re interested, they are:

ImageOne Cell in the Sea, 2007

Image
B
omb in a Birdcage, 2009

ImagePines, 2012

Image

“You show up like a hurricane, all hungry-eyed, and weather-stained.
The clock forgets to tick, and I the same.
I died the day you disappeared, so why would you be welcome here?
Ride the wind that brought you back away.
No, you can’t come in.
No, you can’t come in.
I cannot stop my rebel hands from pulling out the pots and pans.
I left you in the cold until you shook.
You’re gentle now but I recall both tender fire and bitter squall,
A history so deep it hurts to look.
No, you can’t come in.
No, you can’t come in.
If the sea should swallow up my house I will turn the rooftop inside out,
And the wind will be wailing, but I will be sailing faster.
Oh, the elements I do not fear, but I fall apart when you appear.
Cause you are the greatest, the greatest disaster.
If the sea should swallow up my house I will turn the rooftop inside out,
And the wind will be wailing but I will be sailing faster.”

Leave a Reply

