The lovely days of Fall have come…

In all of my preparations to move away from my family home, there is one thing I can definitely say I will miss about this area of the country. Where I grew up, there were a few good trees downtown that would get some nice color in the fall, but cold frost and winter weather would come so early that it wouldn’t last. I’ve been living in the eastern United States for a while now, and I can’t imagine a more beautiful autumnal area. As late September approaches, it’s like all of the hills begin to burst into color, slowly at first, but then with intensity. My family would take long drives through the hills and parkways just to look at the gorgeous fall foliage.
And it occurred to me just the other day that I am preparing to leave right when everything is about to take on the golden tones that accompany the dying of the year. It makes me a little sad. It’s one of the only things I’ll miss about this area. I guess I’ll just have to take care to enjoy the few fiery leaves that are beginning to slowly tumble down into the yard.

“That night was the turning-point in the season. We had gone to bed in summer, and we awoke in autumn; for summer passes into autumn in some imaginable point of time, like the turning of a leaf.”
-Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

