Smile with a Carol in your heart..

“Smile, though your heart is aching. Smile even when it’s breaking. When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by. If you smile through your pain and sorrow, smile and maybe tomorrow you’ll see the sun come shining through for you. Light up your face with gladness. Hide every trace of sadness, although a tear may be ever so near. That’s the time you must keep on trying. Smile, what’s the use of crying? You’ll find that life is still worthwhile if you just smile.”

One of the most valuable things I learned from my friend Carol is how important it is to smile. A smile can be such a blessing to others, and also to yourself.

When Carol passed away almost two years ago, now, I made myself a picture. It’s just a simple picture of her smiling, and I wrote the same words that I have typed up above on it. I have it hung up in a quiet corner of my house, where I occasionally glance at it, and it reminds me of the importance of a smile. Sometimes I see it in the morning as I’m getting ready for the day ahead and I tell myself that I’m going to go through the day with a smile on my face and a carol in my heart (see what I did there? πŸ™‚

Today is one of those days where my eyes have been drawn to that picture more than once, because she is fresh in my mind. That’s because today would have been Carol’s 21st birthday. I was just thinking earlier how strange it is, because I don’t think of myself as being very old, but I just turned 22. And that’s an age that Carol will never see. It’s interesting to think about, but it also was starting to make me sad. So, I let myself cry a little and then sucked it up, and told myself, as always, that today will be another day where I just need to go about my business with a smile on my face and a carol in my heart…because Carol would be appalled if I went through her birthday without smiling. πŸ™‚

“A glad heart makes a happy face; a broken heart crushes the spirit.” Proverbs 15:13

Leave a Reply

